Center for Teacher Excellence

Past Speakers

The civics seminars feature distinguished Hillsdale College faculty members including:

  • Dr. Larry Arnn, President
  • Dr. Bradley Birzer, Russell Amos Kirk Chair in American Studies, Professor of History
  • Dr. David Bobb, Executive Director of Citizen Education, Lecturer in Politics
  • Dr. Michael Clark, Assistant Professor of Economics
  • Dr. Mickey Craig, William and Berniece Grewcock Professor of Politics
  • Dr. Robert Eden, Professor of Politics
  • Dr. Burton Folsom, Charles F. Cline Chair in History and Management and Professor of History
  • Sir Martin Gilbert, Professor Emeritus of History and official biographer of Winston Churchill
  • Dr. John Grant, Assistant Professor of Politics
  • Dr. Mark Kalthoff, Henry Salvatori Chair in History and Traditional Values, Chairman and Professor of History
  • The Hon. Stephen Markman, Michigan Supreme Court Justice, and Distinguished Visiting Professor of Political Science
  • Dr. Terrence Moore, Assistant Professor of History
  • Dr. Paul Moreno, William and Berniece Grewcock Chair in Constitutional History, and Professor of History
  • Dr. Will Morrisey, William and Patricia LaMothe Chair in the U.S. Constitution and Professor of Politics
  • Dr. Ronald Pestritto, Charles and Lucia Shipley Chair in the American Constitution, Dean of Graduate School, and Associate Professor of Politics
  • Dr. Kevin Portteus, Associate Professor of Politics
  • Dr. David Raney, Associate Professor of History
  • Dr. Matthew Spalding, Associate Vice President and Dean of Educational Programs at the Allan P. Kirby, Jr. Center for Constitutional Studies and Citizenship
  • Dr. Thomas West, Professor of Politics
  • Dr. Gary Wolfram, William E. Simon Professor in Economics and Public Policy, Director of the Economics Program, and Professor of Political Economy

Hillsdale College faculty are joined by nationally-known guest lecturers including:

  • Dr. Sallie Baliunas, Astrophysicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Dr. Arnold Beichman, Research Fellow, Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace
  • Dr. Herman Belz, Professor Emeritus of History, University of Maryland-College Park
  • Prof. Eric Claeys, Associate Professor of Law, George Mason University
  • Dr. John Eastman, Dean, Chapman University Law School
  • Dr. Edward Erler, Professor of Political Science, California State University–San Bernardino
  • Dr. Allen Guelzo, Henry R. Luce Professor of the Civil War Era and Professor of History, Gettysburg College
  • Dr. John Marini, Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Nevada–Reno
  • Dr. Dan Monroe, Assistant Professor of History, Millikin University
  • Dr. Lucas Morel, Associate Professor of Political Science, Washington and Lee University
  • Dr. John Ramsden, Professor Emeritus of Modern History and Director of the Graduate School in Humanities and Social Sciences, Queen Mary College, University of London
  • Dr. Larry Schweikart, Professor of History, University of Dayton
  • Dr. Fred Singer, President, The Science & Environmental Policy Project, and Distinguished Research Professor, George Mason University
  • Dr. Elizabeth Spalding, Associate Professor of Government and Director, Claremont McKenna College Washington Program